Retirement Diaries 2023: Socializing


Week two has been a combination of socializing and helping my mom purge the house.

The early part of the week was fairly quiet, just lying low around the house, helping mom with her purging project, reading, and watching TV.  The weather has been the typical Northwest winter weather, rainy, windy and blah.  But the crummy weather means that I’ve been reading more than normal, so I have already read eight books so far this year!

I went to the beach with Jena on Thursday afternoon, on a gloomy, gray day.  At least it wasn’t raining, but it did start to sprinkle as we were walking back to the car.  Once again we found some cool rocks, but were thwarted in our quest for agates.

I went and had some blood work done, because my doctor wanted to recheck my thyroid levels.  When I had my annual exam right after I quit my job, my thyroid levels were out of whack, but a month later they were normal.  And now, still normal – that’s great news!  I know stress can mess with your thyroid, so I’m assuming that was the issue.

My original purpose of coming to Washington in February was my friend Jena’s 60th birthday party, which was Saturday.  I’m an introvert, and definitely not much of a party person, but I went, and peopled and had fun.  The party was at the barn of a local man who rents it out for parties and reunions, and this place was fascinating.  There was memorabilia, decorations and odds and ends everywhere.  It was a lot to look at; like an episode of American Pickers!

Sunday I had lunch with a friend that I used to work with and got to meet his wife.  It was a lot of fun catching up!  Then for dinner, I met with my oldest friend and her new beau.  We have been friends for 40 years!  Oh my, how is that possible?!?  Of course, I was so busy chatting that I completely forgot to get any photos!  Oops.

I fly out on Saturday, so I have the rest of this week to make the most of my time here.  I hear I’ll arrive in time for the next cold front in the Midwest.  Winter isn’t done with me yet.

 

2 thoughts on “Retirement Diaries 2023: Socializing

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.