Retirement Diaries 2024: Some Michigan Time


Mom and I arrived home from a week in Michigan on Wednesday evening, so I’ve been having a few quiet days recuperating since I have been home.  Those drive days can be exhausting!

We had a great time, spending a few days visiting family in a couple different parts of the state.  We also went to my mom’s high school reunion.  It was a 50+ reunion, which meant anyone who graduated in 1974 or earlier could attend.  There were a lot of oldsters there (haha)!  The reunion was a little dull for me, but I did find some agates in the rocks outside!  I’m always seeing the positives.

We went to a few antique stores and thrift shops and found some treasures, and had some good food along the way.  Whitefish fish and chips, bison burgers, and a delicious white fish and cream cheese dip with flatbread are just a few.

And the touristing!  After the family activities we had a few days of sightseeing in the Upper Peninsula.  I had never been up there, so it was all new to me!  We saw the Old Mackinac Point Lighthouse, Fort Michilimackinac and the world’s largest hot dog in Mackinaw City, and went to Mackinac Island for the day, where we saw Fort Mackinac, Arch Rock and the Butterfly House.  We visited the Shipwreck Museum at Whitefish Point, and I walked to see the lower and upper falls of Tahquamenon Falls (that’s a mouthful!).  We ended our visit with a too-brief stop at Munising to see Alger Falls and Munising Falls, and to take a Pictured Rocks boat cruise. 

It was truly a spectacular visit!  I loved seeing my family, some of whom I haven’t seen in years!  And a few days of sightseeing made my wandering soul happy.  I will post more about the visit soon!

Meanwhile, I have a book club book to read before next Tuesday, other library books with due dates, and laundry and house chores to do.  The garden weeds grew a ton while I was away! 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.