Day 11, Monday, August 15, 2016
The Snake River is generally a wide multi-channeled river as it flows through Grand Teton National Park. There are only a few places within the park boundary where the river narrows to a single channel. It is at one of these spots where Bill Menor settled in 1892, and established a ferry to cross the river, as well a General Store. His brother Holiday settled on the other side of the river and operated a limekiln. Bill Menor used this lime to whitewash his General Store.
The ferry was a reaction ferry, which used the current of the river to propel the ferry. In the winter, when the river was low, he used a cable car to transport passengers. Menor operated the ferry until 1918, when he sold the store and the ferry to Maud Noble, a Philadelphia women who came to Jackson Hole looking for adventure. She operated the ferry until 1927, when the state of Wyoming built a bridge nearby.
Maud Noble was significant for another reason too. She was instrumental in the movement to create Grand Teton National Park. She hosted Horace Albright, then the Superintendent of the National Park Service, along with several local ranchers and farmers, at a historic meeting in her cabin to talk about the creation of the park.
The Menor’s Ferry history area contains the Menor General Store, a replica reaction ferry, the original well, a replica barn and Maud Noble’s cabin, which was moved to the site when she purchased the store and ferry in 1918.
Nearby is also the Chapel of the Transfiguration, an Episcopal Church that was built in 1925 on land donated by Maud Noble. Services are held weekly between May and September, and the chapel can be booked for weddings with the stunning backdrop of the Tetons through the window.
Be sure to visit the area when you are in Grand Teton National Park – it is worth a look around!