The Wine that Time Forgot…


I found this bottle on the bottom shelf of the wine fridge yesterday.  I don’t remember ever having seen it before.  My mom recently brought me some Michigan wine, but this isn’t from Michigan, so I don’t think that’s it.  It is the D’Arenberg The Stump Jump White 2011, a South Australian wine.  It is a blend of Riesling, Marsanne, Sauvignon Blanc and Rousanne.

D'Arenberg The Stump Jump White - Vintage 2011

D’Arenberg The Stump Jump White – Vintage 2011

It is only a 12 bottle wine fridge, and I rummage around in there quite often, taking bottles out to drink and putting new ones in.  It isn’t like a bottle is likely to get lost in there.  It is a 2011, so it’s likely I’ve had it for awhile…  Maybe Jon found this one on the rack in the pantry and put it in there, but it wasn’t dusty, and most of those bottles are dusty.  Jon isn’t likely to wipe or rinse a bottle…  So, I’m confused.  I suppose I might have picked it up at the grocery store on one of those nights we stopped by on the way home from doing wound care with my horse.  Those were long, tiring days…   But surely it is a better story that that!

I popped open this alien-delivered bottle to find a nose of lemongrass, and flavors of pineapple and lemongrass.  It has an initial taste of butter on the tongue, giving way to a mild acidity at the back of the palate.  A great summer sipper to pair with lazy summer weekends inside (because it is too smoky outside from the wildfires east of the mountains), folding laundry and watching reruns of M*A*S*H.

Hope you had a great weekend as well, and perhaps found a mystery bottle in your wine fridge!

 

10 thoughts on “The Wine that Time Forgot…

Leave a Reply

