Henry Hotspur’s Hard Pressed for Cider


With a name like that, it’s begging to be plucked off the shelf and plunked into the cart.  I found it at Trader Joe’s, on a mission for snacks, ready to eat meals for those long days when we don’t feel like cooking, and wine…  I wasn’t looking for cider.  But this one just said, “Bring me home!”  I know, I know, I am strange…

Henry Hotspur's Hard Pressed for Cider

Henry Hotspur’s Hard Pressed for Cider

It sat around in the wine fridge for awhile, until tonight in fact, when I was mulling over what to open.  Upon opening, it had a nice carbonation under the bottle cap closure.  In the glass, it was a pale straw color with tiny bubbles.  The nose was barely perceptible, of mulling spices and apple.

On the palate, it is semi-sweet, with a light flavor of apples, cinnamon, and clove.  There’s nothing complicated here, no lasting finish, just a simple, sweet taste of fall.  And for $2 for a 22 oz. bottle, I really don’t expect anything more.

I know nothing about the production; no info on apple varieties or region. What you see is what you get – but certainly worth it for the price.

Have you tried Henry Hotspur’s Cider?  What did you think?

 

Leave a Reply

