There’s Less Competition for the White Wines…


I’m still working on the wines from the mixed case, and I have much more success getting some tastes of the whites!  Jon isn’t quite as interested in white wines, so I can open them at my leisure.  Here are my notes on the few I have tried lately.

2013 Gerald Talmard Chardonnay.  This wine is from the Mâcon Uchizy region in France and it is an unoaked Chardonnay with lemongrass and a hint of floral and herbal notes on the nose.  On the palate, it has a bright acidity with tart, light citrus and lemongrass flavors.  I like a good, crisp white wine anytime of the year, but this would be an excellent summer wine, enjoyed out on the deck with with BBQ chicken.  Ahh… now I want summer back, instead of this rainy, windy storm going on outside my window.  $11.99

My Mixed Case of Wine – I sampled the Scaia on the far left, and the Gerald Talmard , which is fifth from the right, with the bright yellow label.

My Mixed Case of Wine – I sampled the Scaia on the far left, and the Gerald Talmard , which is fifth from the right, with the bright yellow label.

2013 Scaia white wine.  This wine from the Veneto region of Italy is a blend of 50% Garganega, 30% Chardonnay and 20% Trebbiano di Soave.  However, there was some conflicting information on the internet, so those percentages might be somewhat different.  It also seems that the blend changes with each vintage.  This wine had flavors of peach, grapefruit, and pineapple with good acidity.  It also contained a nice balance of sweetness on the front of the tongue and tartness on the back of the palate. $10.99

Scaia is another wine that would be great in the summer, but would also be wonderful with spicy Thai food or stir fry.  The fact that Garganega was a grape I hadn’t tried before was just a bonus!  I loved checking a grape off of my Century Wine Club list!

Thanksgiving is almost upon us, and you can be sure I’ll be enjoying some wines at our table.  What will you be having?

 

2 thoughts on “There’s Less Competition for the White Wines…

  1. Sounds like you are doing quite well with your mixed case!
    On the Thanksgiving table will have Beaujolais Nouveau, as this is pretty much a tradition, the Fiction red from the Field Recordings, not sure about the white, may be Zinfandel and may be something for the dessert – again, not sure.

    • Yes, the mixed case so far has been very pleasing. There is only one red that I really wasn’t very excited about, but it was still perfectly drinkable, and Jon liked it. On Thanksgiving wines, I’m not totally decided yet either. We will have a couple of bottles of Oregon Pinot to pair with the turkey and the Sext sparkling Riesling from Chehalem, that both my parents and Jon’s mom love (we both love it too). But beyond that, I will probably leave it up to Jon.

Leave a Reply

