The First Wine from the Mixed Case


Bright cherry red with a hint of carbonation?  That’s usually not the description for a wine…  But it was how I describe the first wine from the mixed case I purchased last weekend.  I let Jon pick the first wine to try, and he chose the 2012 Trentadue Old Patch Red.

The color was more bright cherry red than I was expecting from a wine that is primarily Zinfandel, and it was less opaque than I was expecting too.  On the palate, it has a medium body, but the first taste of this wine was odd.  It made my tongue tingle, almost like the wine was lightly carbonated.  Once the tingle dissipated, I figured it was very strong spice that was causing the sensation.  So weird!  Fortunately the tingling on the tongue went away after the wine sat in the glass for about 10 minutes.

This red blend from the North Coast of California is 85% Zinfandel, 6% Petite Sirah, 5% Carignane, and 4% Syrah.  This wine was meh… Not bad enough to pour down the drain, but… in short, not every wine is a winner.

Have you had the 2012 Trentadue Old Patch Red?  What did you think?

8 thoughts on “The First Wine from the Mixed Case

  1. I never had this particular wine – I only had their higher end La Storia wines, but also don’t remember being overly impressed. This could be an off bottle? To top it off, I decided to look for the winery information on this one – their web site lists 2012 Old Patch Red Lot #38 with the exact composition as you mentioned. Their “trade” information presents 2012 Old Patch Red Lot #37 (!) with totally different composition and even different grapes! See for yourself: http://trentadue.com/media/9598/2012-Old-Patch-Red-Lot-37.pdf
    If they are so disorganized, I’m not surprised the wine was off… Sad… But you have 11 more to look for trying 🙂

    • It is the Lot #38 that we had. It makes me wonder if their lot #s are where they are buying excess grapes from other wineries, and then just blending them according to the amounts they have in the batch… They could be buying multiple lots in a year and bottling them as such? And yes, the bottle could have been off, but oddly it didn’t seem to exhibit other characteristics of a bottle gone bad.

      The good news is the next two we tried are quite nice. Reviews coming soon!

      • Glad to hear that the new wines were good! Regarding the Trentadue, I think what I said was not very clear. What I meant is that if you come and look to their web site as a consumer, you will only find 2012 Lot #38. However, the trade section doesn’t have any information on the 2012 Lot # 38, it is only 2012 Lot #37 which is listed there… Very odd…

      • Oh, I understand now! You are right – I wasn’t getting it before. Thank you for the clarification! That is very odd, and does seem like they are rather disorganized. Hmmm…

  2. Very interesting! I’ve not had the Trentdue Old Patch Red, but have experienced a similar sensation with a different wine— the Carmenere produced by La Famiglia Meschini. It wasn’t overly effervescent but present enough that everyone in our tasting group noticed. Surprising. The slight effervescence dissipated after breathing and it, like your Trentadue, then displayed fair amount of spice in the flavor profile. We’ve had subsequent bottles (actually enjoy the wine with the right food pairings) but have always wondered if the effervescent quality was a flaw or an intention. Let us know if you learn more!

    • That is interesting! And yes, that is exactly the descriptor – an effervescence – although there were no visible bubbles in the wine. Was the effervescence there in all of the bottles of Carmenere, or just the one? I also wondered if it is a flaw, or perhaps just an off bottle. I suppose for $7.99, it wouldn’t break the bank to buy another and find out… 🙂 If I do, I will certainly let everybody know!

      • Camille, it has been in every bottle we’ve had of this particular Carmenere, which is an affordable $10-12 price point, if I recall correctly.Though I should add that we haven’t had this wine in a while and every bottle we tried was from the same vintage. Now I am curious, too, to find out what the cause is of this kind of effervescent mouthfeel in a non sparkling wine!

Leave a Reply

