2011 Panther Creek Pinot Noir Winemaker’s Cuvée


My weeks have been tough lately.  Working long hours, on tough stuff.  I’m wiped out and it’s only Wednesday!

Jon opened up a 2011 Panther Creek Pinot Noir Winemaker’s Cuvée last night.  I was still finishing off a bottle of Chehalem Riesling (delicious!), so I didn’t have a glass of the Pinot until tonight.  I poured myself a glass to pair with a quick dinner of Gardenburger and edamame, and settled in to relax.  On the nose, this wine has that characteristic Pinot pickle aroma, as well as an earthy aroma.

On the palate, this wine is bold; earthy with lots of tobacco and spice on top of overripe cherries.  I love it.  It is delicious, making me wonder if it was even better last night!  This wine is definitely turning my evening around.

I couldn’t really find any information on this wine online, so I suppose you’ll have to take my word for it that it is great.  Panther Creek is located in McMinnville, Oregon, and they just opened a new tasting room in Dundee, Oregon too.

Have you had Panther Creek wines?  What are you drinking tonight?

10 thoughts on “2011 Panther Creek Pinot Noir Winemaker’s Cuvée

  1. Help me love Pinot Noir. I’d even settle for ‘Like”. I have to learn to like it, I’m growing it. I’m drinking Butcherblock 2011 cab sav which drinks more like pinot and I’m disappointed. I wanted to love wine tonight.

    • I know it is possible! Jon only drank big cabs when we met and now he loves Pinots. Have you tried some of the bigger California Pinots? They tend to me bolder and more earthy and spicy than the Oregon ones. Does this mean I might get some of your batch when you don’t love it? 🙂

  2. I have not tried Panther Creek, but I’m trying to learn to appreciate Pinot more. I’m with your husband. I’d rather have a Cab any day. 🙂 Hopefully things settle down for you soon. I know the feeling!

    • I hope things settle down soon too! It has been pretty busy, and tough stuff to deal with. I have been coming home physically and emotionally exhausted. I don’t understand how you would have trouble appreciating Pinot. I love them! Have you tried any of the California ones?

      • Too funny! I love the acidity and the flavors! Often when drinking Cab (particularly the Washington Cabs), I feel like I’m chewing on a tree trunk. 🙂 There’s a wine for everyone!

        And thank you – I’m hoping things settle down soon too. It has been tiring.

  3. Hope things have settle for you, we have more reliable internet service, so attempting to catchup with some reading. Hoping we can make a stop at Panther Creek to try their wines. Have discovered lots of breweries where we have traveled, but will be heading inland soon to do more wineries.

Leave a Reply

