A Herd of Felted Animals


Back in January, my sister in law organized a craft weekend at a retreat center near her house.  I’m not particularly crafty, but my mom really wanted to go and she didn’t want to make the long trip down to Portland by herself.  So, I organized all of my craft projects and made the trip.

The craft weekend was really designed for people who do scrapbooking, with rows of tables set up so you can spread out all your stuff and not have to worry about putting it away until the end of the weekend.  And if you have kids, you need an opportunity to get away from their constant need for attention and greasy fingers…

The retreat center brought back memories of summer camp.  I never actually went to a regular summer camp, but I saw some in the movies.  You know the kinds with row upon row of bunk beds.  Yep, that was this place.  There weren’t that many people there though, so mom and I had a whole room of bunk beds to ourselves.

Our sleeping quarters – they did remind me that I have gotten too old for bunk beds. My Tempurpedic is much better!

Our sleeping quarters – they did remind me that I have gotten too old for bunk beds. My Tempurpedic is much better!

Since I don’t scrapbook, I brought a latch hook rug that had been half finished since I was about 19.  I endured endless ribbing at work about the fact that I have a latch hook rug – in fact, one coworker was in tears because she was laughing so hard at my expense.  I did manage to finish off that rug – a finished project!

I also brought several felted animals.  Readers of this blog know that I hosted a felting party last year where I made a felted owl.  Piddles, as he came to be called, has traveled the Western United States with us since then and has been featured in some of my blog pictures.  And everybody knows that one needs friends.  So I wanted to give Piddles some buddies.

Mid-felt on a frog and a penguin

Mid-felt on a frog and a penguin

Over the course of the weekend, I finished off two felted goldfish and two felted frogs.  Piddles is now part of a menagerie!  I have no idea what Jon will say if any or all of them join us on our next trip!

Piddles hangs out with his new friends

Piddles hangs out with his new friends

 

6 thoughts on “A Herd of Felted Animals

  1. Adorable – I recently gave away an unfinished latch hook rug of a tiger that one of my kids didn’t want after begging and pleading for the opportunity to have it. Glad you got your done!

Leave a Reply

