Great Thai at the Thai Basil Restaurant in Roseville, CA


After our amazing trip to the Sacramento National Wildlife Refuge, Jon and I got back on the road and continued the rest of the way to our home away from home in Roseville, CA.  There was some traffic, but it wasn’t terrible, and soon enough we were checked into our hotel and heading back out to grab a bite to eat.

We decided to go to the Thai Basil restauarant, in Roseville.  Jon used to go there with his grandma, and was feeling nostalgic.  From the outside, it doesn’t look like much, a small storefront in one of California’s endless strip malls.  Although, it is right by the music store, which for Jon is a huge plus.  But inside you find a nicely decorated, family owned restaurant with some of the best Thai food I have had.

I had the Pad-Kow-Pod-Orn with beef, which is baby corn, onions, snow peas, carrots and mushrooms sautéed in light gravy soy sauce (I asked them to hold the onions, which they happily did) – they also used shitake mushrooms!  Jon had the Gang-Keaw-Wan (Spicy Green Curry) with Tofu, which was Asian eggplant, bell peppers, and Thai basil simmered in green curry and coconut milk.  The food was great, with lots of fresh, specialty vegetables; the Thai eggplant in Jon’s curry was very good.

Pad-Kow-Pod-Orn - Delicious (that's white rice there in the front, by the way - I'm terrible at food pictures!)

Pad-Kow-Pod-Orn – Delicious (that’s white rice there in the front, by the way – I’m terrible at food pictures!)

Gang-Keaw-Wan with Tofu - Jon loved it!

Gang-Keaw-Wan with Tofu – Jon loved it!

We paired our dinners with Sierra Nevada Pale Ale – for some reason we were both feeling in a beer kind of mood.  There was also a local musician there playing his music; he played guitar, flute, and several other instruments, with a nice, relaxing, earthy sound.  He was very unobtrusive; you could hear the music but it wasn’t so loud that you couldn’t have a nice conversation.  I would certainly recommend the Thai Basil, and would go again when we are back in the area.

2 thoughts on “Great Thai at the Thai Basil Restaurant in Roseville, CA

  1. You’ve inspired me to consider walking a half marathon this year. I’ve actually gone as far as identifying one that I’d like to do, so I may be a little further than “consider.” Happy 2014 to you, Jon and your four-legged kids. Looking forward to reading about your adventures this year.

    • I’m so happy to have inspired you! I signed up with several of my friends on Dec. 31 to do the Oregon Wine Country half again this year, Labor Day weekend. For several of my girlfriends, this will be their first one! I look forward to reading about your travels too! Happy New Year! Camille

Leave a Reply

