Hugues Beauvignac 2009 Picpoul de Pinet


My recent Wine Century Party gave me a list of wine grapes that I hadn’t yet tried.  Last time I checked, I was at 77 grapes.  On our recent trip to California, Jon and I visited Total Wine on a mission to get some hard liquor for one of Jon’s friends, who gave us money and a wish list (I think WA state has the highest sin tax in the nation, so stocking up in California makes a lot of sense).  I had never been to a Total Wine before, so of course, I had to check out everything…

As I was wondering what I could get to round out my six pack (and feeling a bit overwhelmed), I happened upon this bottle of Picpoul de Pinet.  I knew it was on the list of grapes I haven’t tried yet, so I picked it up and brought it home.

Hugues Beauvignac 2009 Picpoul de Pinet (Sorry the silver lettering really doesn't show up very well)

Hugues Beauvignac 2009 Picpoul de Pinet (Sorry the silver lettering really doesn’t show up very well)

We opened it on the 23rd of December, as we were watching TV and wrapping presents, getting the last minute things done for Christmas.  The wine was made by Hugues Beavignac, from the Languedoc region of France.  Picpoul Blanc is one of the grapes permitted in Châteauneuf-du-Pape, but it lost much of its popularity after the French Wine Blight because of its susceptibility to fungal diseases, and because the low yield of the grape.

Upon opening the bottle, I got a light citrus nose.  On the palate, there was a nicely balanced acidity, with citrus and mineral flavors, and just a hint of butter on the finish.  Jon described the wine as balanced right between sweet and dry.  It tasted equally good the next day, when we took the bottle down to Christmas Eve dinner at Jon’s parents.

I was very pleased with the wine, and at $10.99, it was certainly affordable.  And now I am up to 78 grapes!

One thought on “Hugues Beauvignac 2009 Picpoul de Pinet

Leave a Reply

