King Estate: Pinot Gris


Even as the weather is turning cold and stormy, I was craving a white wine.  Luckily I had a few on hand, so I uncorked a bottle of King Estate 2011 Pinot Gris.

King Estate is one of the larger Oregon wine producers, located in Eugene Oregon.  They have four lines of wines; King Estate Signature, King Estate Domaine, Acrobat and NxNW (North by Northwest).  Their winery and tasting room also contains a fine dining restaurant, and they offer tours of the wine facility.  I haven’t been there, because we generally try to visit the smaller producers, but it looks to have a lovely patio with a pretty view of the vineyards.

King Estate Signature 2011 Pinot Gris

King Estate Signature 2011 Pinot Gris

The 2011 King Estate Signature Pinot Gris is a nice Oregon style Gris, aged for 5 months in stainless steel.  It has a crisp, bright acidity and a peach and pineapple nose.  The flavor is tart balanced with sweet, with flavors of crisp green apple, and a touch of lime.

The perfect kind of wine for a hot day on the patio.  The kind of day I wish weren’t nine months away…  Cheers!

2 thoughts on “King Estate: Pinot Gris

  1. Thanks again for opening my palate to whites. I am still confused on what to buy when I stare at them in the store (shopping by how much I like the label for whites doesn’t work out as well as reds) but I now can reference you blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

