A Pre-half-marathon Taste of Cider


After a long, tough week at work, with days of torrential rain, the weekend is finally upon us!  And the weather forecast is looking up finally too!  At least for today and tomorrow…

I’m happy about the dry day forecast for tomorrow, because I’ll be completing my fifth half marathon!  It is the Run Like a Girl half marathon, a charity race that benefits the Girls on the Run program.  I did my first Run Like a Girl half last year, and I blogged about it here.  I imagine this year will be just as fun!  And it is a great cause; last year a little girl’s story brought me to tears.  You can read about it here.

Tonight I’m relaxing with the Finnriver Artisan Cider, an apple sparkling wine made in the same way as champagne is traditionally made.  Finnriver is located in Chimacum, WA, on the Olympic Peninsula of Washington.  Sadly, we didn’t have an opportunity to visit when we were visiting the Olympic National Park a few weeks ago, but I was lucky enough to try their ciders at the Anacortes Spring Wine Festival in April.

The Artisan Cider has a very light effervescence, with tiny little bubbles that escape up the side of the glass.  There is a light apple nose with a hint of yeast.  On the palate, you get that same light, semi-sweet apple flavor with just a hint of baked bread.  It is absolutely delicious and it won’t slow me down for the race!

Have a great weekend, everybody!

6 thoughts on “A Pre-half-marathon Taste of Cider

    • Thank you! I’m off to the race in a few minutes! But this is the last one until next year for me. Jon is running a full marathon in Sacramento in December, but I will be the cheering spectator for that one!

    • The race did go well! A lot of fun for a great cause. My knee is a little sore, but I’m not sure it is because of the race, because it was bothering me a bit before too. I’m taking it easy this week. The cider is alcoholic – Finnriver does several hard ciders, blackcurrant, apple, and pear, and then still wines with the same fruits. They have a habanero cider too, but I haven’t tried that one. Makes me wish I had another bottle!

Leave a Reply

