Dinner with Friends. And Wine.


Over the weekend Jon and I had some friends over for dinner.  It was kind of funny actually, because I had gotten an email from my friend Bliss about getting together for dinner, and responded with some dates, and then realized that it was an email from several weeks before.  We had already set up and had that dinner even!  But they were available on one of the dates I had suggested so we got together again.   YAY!

We had turkey tacos, topped with sauteed cabbage and peppers, avocado, tomatoes, sour cream, salsa, and olives.  And Spanish Rice.  Because tacos are always better with Spanish Rice.

When they got here, we uncorked the 2011 Stella Blanca by Northstar Winery – a blend of 93% Semillon and 7% Muscadelle.  Bliss hasn’t tried many white wines, and apparently she is anxious about buying whites, because she is worried that she won’t like them.  But she has liked the whites that she has tried at my house, and was excited about trying another.  This one didn’t disappoint!

The Stella Blanca was crisp and citrusy, without being too acidic.  I thought it paired quite nicely with the tacos, with just enough citrus and acidity to cut through the mild spice of the meal.

2010 Arbor Crest Malbec and 2011 Stella Blanca by Northstar Winery

2010 Arbor Crest Malbec and 2011 Stella Blanca by Northstar Winery

The second wine that we opened was the Arbor Crest 2010 Malbec.  This was a wine that I picked up on a trip to Spokane Valley, WA for a conference, back in August (I haven’t had a chance to blog about that trip yet – but soon!)  This was actually the first tasting room I have ever visited in a shopping mall!  To tell the truth, I was a bit skeptical about their wines – given that we were tasting them right next door to the food court, but I was quite impressed!

The Malbec was produced from grapes grown in the Wahluke Slope Vineyard.  The Wahluke Slope AVA lies entirely within the Columbia Valley AVA, and has some of the warmest, driest weather in Washington.  It is a bold wine, but nicely balanced, with black cherries, chocolate and lots of spice.  This one was a real crowd pleaser at dinner.  I was the only one who had tasted it before and it was so neat to see a wine I had chosen get such rave reviews!

We finished off our meal with a fantastic apple crumble pie from the Farmer’s Market.  The apples were fresh and delicious and the crumble on top was perfect – sweet and sugary.  Terrible for the waistline, I’m sure, but good for the soul.  A fantastic evening spent with friends.

4 thoughts on “Dinner with Friends. And Wine.

    • The winery wasn’t open late enough on the day we were there (after our conference all day) so we settled for the mall location. The atmosphere left a bit to be desired, but the wine was great. And we went to the restaurant across the hall – Twigs – fantastic!

  1. Dinner was so delicious, I can’t believe how much I ate! Totally going to steal the idea of cooking the cabbage up with the peppers, makes it so flavorful. Both wines were great and I can’t believe how I am starting to enjoy white wine. I always associated whites with a syrupy sweetness and every white I have had at your house has been so refreshing.

    • You can saute other veggies too and and them! Jon and I have done carrots, mushrooms and peppers together too. I’m glad you have enjoyed the whites lately – there are a whole bunch of them that aren’t super-sweet. You just have to find what you like!

Leave a Reply

