Why I Walk


I heard a comment the other day from a commenter out in the blogosphere that made me proud.  She said that reading about my latest half marathon had inspired her to sign up for a 5K.  I’m not sure that I have ever inspired somebody’s fitness aspirations before, and it got me thinking about my half marathoning, and why I do it.

Some things about me:

1.  I am not a runner.  I think the furthest distance I have ever run is 2 miles.  And I don’t enjoy it.

2.  I am a severe pronator (that means my feet fall in and flatten my arch when my foot strikes).

3.  Because of my pronating, if I don’t wear the right shoes for me (the Brooks Ariel) and my orthotics, I get shin splints.  Worst.  Pain.  Ever.

4.  I have asthma.

5.  I’m not in incredible shape.  Like most women, I get frustrated that it is so hard to lose 10 pounds or get rid of that belly pooch.  And then my husband goes out for a 15 mile run and makes it seem effortless.  Grrr…

I had never even considered walking a half marathon when my friend Shelley asked if I wanted to sign up for the first one in 2010.  I waffled.  I was non-committal, I certainly wasn’t eager.  But eventually I caved.  I saw that it was important to her.  I figured what would it hurt?  And now I have completed four – all with Shelley.

Me Before My Least Favorite Half Marathon - the Second.  I Call it the Bataan Death March.  It Was Raining.  Hard.  October 2011.

Me Before My Least Favorite Half Marathon – the Second. I Call it the Bataan Death March. It Was Raining. Hard. October 2011.

I walk so I can stay fit and strong.  I walk so I feel good about myself.  I walk so I don’t have to stress about that glass of wine or apple pie.  I walk to melt away the stresses of the day, and make sure I can face the workweek – I know of no better way to deal with stress and frustration.  I walk so I can continue to do all the things I want to do – like walk to the bottom of the Point Reyes Lighthouse, or take that hike through the National Park with Jon.  I walk for me.

For those of you who think that you can’t do something like a half marathon; you can.  You just have to put one foot in front of the other.  So maybe you won’t be fast – who cares?  The only person that you are competing against is yourself.  Not up for a half marathon?  Start with a 5K.  Start with 1 mile.  Start with a walk around the block.

What inspires you?

P.S.  If you are curious about the Bataan Death March Half Marathon, you can read more here

4 thoughts on “Why I Walk

Leave a Reply

