I’m Such a Sucker for a Hard Luck Case


I admit it – I’m a sucker.  Many of you read with sympathy my recent stories of Martini and her battle with alimentary lymphoma.  Many of you had very kind words when I made the decision to end her suffering on March 1, 2013.  Maybe some of you have tears in your eyes reading this (like I do writing this).

So when my horse’s vet told me he had kittens – one little girl who had been abandoned at a farm – I knew I wouldn’t be able to resist even though I tried.  I told him I would ask around.  I told him I thought two cats was perfect for me now that Martini was gone.  That lasted about a week, until Gordon emailed me a photo.  I showed Jon.  He told me that it was up to me, but that if I wanted a new kitten, he would be okay with that.  That’s his way of saying he thought I should get her.

So on April 21st, my mom and I drove out to the vet to see her.  And hold her and pet her.  And bring her home.  She’s about 6 months old, and she’s cute and friendly and playful.  And the boys are fine with her – maybe not thrilled, but fine (after Oliver hid under the bed for three hours once I brought her home).

So there’s a new life in the house now.  Adding some noise and energy and laughter.  She loves her feather on a string toy – Oliver does too.  She loves to sit with Jon.  She loves to attack your toes under the covers at 5:30 in the morning.  Her name is Coraline.

Aren't I the Cutest Thing Ever!?

Aren’t I the Cutest Thing Ever!?

Oscar Sees Coraline for the First Time

Oscar Sees Coraline for the First Time

Oliver Says, Maybe She'll Go Away...

Oliver Says, Maybe She’ll Go Away…

Oliver Is Definitely Not Going Down Those Stairs!

Oliver Is Definitely Not Going Down Those Stairs!

14 thoughts on “I’m Such a Sucker for a Hard Luck Case

    • She’s cute and clueless. He expects her to be out for blood like Tini was, but really she just wants to play with him. It’s pretty funny though – she has no regard for social standing -she just butts in wherever she wants to be!

  1. I am sorry I somehow missed the news about your Martini. That is such a hard choice to make even when you know it’s the right one. I’m also so happy that you are enjoying your new kitty!

  2. Pingback: Farewell to Another Year – See you later 2013! | Wine and History Visited

  3. Pingback: Happy Anniversary | Wine and History Visited

Leave a Reply

