A Crisp Green Apple Riesling


I have had a sore throat for the last several days.  It hasn’t been bad enough to sideline me in bed, but I have been really tired.  It is worst when I first get up, and at the end of the evening.  Sadly, it doesn’t make for the most fun wine drinking experience.  Swallowing kind of hurts, and the menthol in cough drops does not enhance the flavor of wine.  So tonight, I’m holding off on the cough drop until I can finish my glass.

Tonight I’m drinking the 2011 Dr. Loosen Blue Slate Riesling Kabinett.  It was a wine that we picked up at Costco last time we were there, for $11.99.  We have been making it a goal to try more new wines, so this was my pick.  I don’t really get much on the nose (probably because of this cold I’m fighting), but there is a faint hint of minerality mixed with a soft sweetness.  The faint nose may have something to do with the fact that Jon opened this wine yesterday, when I didn’t have the desire to drink wine while I was sucking on those cough drops.

DrLoosenRieslingKabinett

2011 Dr. Loosen Riesling Kabinett

On the tongue, the wine has a bold, tart green apple flavor.  The kind of tart flavor that makes your mouth pucker and water just a little bit.  There is also a distinct mineral crispness.  I paired it with a quick soup tonight, but I think it would be delicious in the summer with a BBQ porkchop.  This wine makes me wish summer were here.  I think I’ll have to keep wishing.

2 thoughts on “A Crisp Green Apple Riesling

Leave a Reply

