Sehome Arboretum in Winter


The last few days have been sunny!  And very cold.  I haven’t been to the Arboretum in a couple of months because… well there are a variety of reasons.  It is dark before work and dark after work, and the Arboretum is too wooded to be out in when it’s dark.  And it’s wooded enough to be quite muddy at certain times of the year.  And everybody knows that the Northwest gets a lot of rain in the late fall and winter.

But with yesterday being sunny and cold (and the weekend), I decided to venture out for a hike in the woods.  I also decided to take my camera and get some winter photos that I could compare to April – see my post from last spring.  And since it has been so cold, I figured the ground would be frozen solid, and I wouldn’t have to worry about mud.  The hike in was just as steep as it always is, starting me off winded and sweating enough to take of my extra layers.  But then at the top, it levels out – requiring me to put most of my layers back on!

The North Side Trail Up to the Top

The North Side Trail Up to the Top

I did my best spy impression and took a zoomed in photo of an insane college student who decided to do some reading in the woods.  Without a coat!  You obviously can’t tell in this photo, but it never made it above freezing yesterday!  He was out reading in 30 degree weather – this would send my father into convulsions.

This Crazy Student Was Reading in the Arboretum - It Was 31 Degrees!  And No Coat!

This Crazy Student Was Reading in the Arboretum – It Was 31 Degrees! And No Coat!

Unfortunately, the batteries in my camera died before I got many more photos, but it was a great hike.  I visited the sandstone tunnel, which was carved by hand in the 1920s.

The Sandstone Tunnel at the Arboretum

The Sandstone Tunnel at the Arboretum

And I got a great workout with these trails!

An Arboretum Trail

An Arboretum Trail

And my last photo was of this neat mushroom – about 5 inches in diameter.

A Mushroom Growing

A Mushroom Growing

And when I got home, I really needed to warm up!  I was chilled to the bone!

2 thoughts on “Sehome Arboretum in Winter

Leave a Reply

