Chemo Kitty Goes to Bed


I had big plans for yesterday after work.  Well, not really, but I did plan on getting some things done around the house that I haven’t had time for (like painting the edges and corners of the family room – Jon did the roller work last week).  Yesterday was chemo night for Martini, and she braved her meds like a real trooper.  And then took herself to bed a half hour later.  So instead of doing all the chores I intended on getting done (best laid plans), I went to bed with her.  We just sat together and had a mellow evening.  I always know that she is feeling very crummy when she lays down next to Oliver and doesn’t even feel like giving him a smack on the head.

She didn’t feel like eating much at all this morning and I’m hoping a quiet day has her feeling better tonight.  This treatment is very hard on both of us.

015 (2)

Martini, you should do more of this. I don’t even care if you make a big mess with it and get it all over your face.

Update:  Approximately 7 minutes after I posted this, Martini walked over to Oliver and smacked him in the head (several times).  Perhaps she is starting to perk up.

7 thoughts on “Chemo Kitty Goes to Bed

  1. Oh, this post made me feel really sad for you and Martini. I’ve had chemo so I can relate very much to how you are both feeling. Unlike me she seems to have kept her hair, which is a good thing with your winter! I hope she gets better soon. 🙂

    • Thank you! It has been a bit of a roller coaster, but she’s my baby, so round and round we go! Fortunately, kitties going through chemo don’t seem to lose their hair like so many people do. Although her hair isn’t growing back on the big shaved patch on her belly (she had an ultrasound to diagnose the lymphoma), and the vet says that won’t start to grow back until chemo is done. I hope your cancer is long gone now!

Leave a Reply

