Chemo Kitty Has Some Hair


One of the most frequent questions I am asked when someone finds out that Martini is going through chemotherapy is whether or not she is losing her hair.  I have to admit, I wondered about that myself.  Would I end up with some sort of scrawny hairless cat who needed to wear a sweater all the time to keep warm?

After a month and a half, and three chemo treatments, Tini is just as furry as she always was.  Well, almost.  Remember she had to have her belly shaved for her ultrasound?  Well, the vet says that her shaved patch probably won’t start to grow in until after chemo is over.  Apparently most cats don’t lose their hair, although some lose their whiskers (Tini still has hers so far).  I guess that’s one less indignity that she will have to endure.

She had just received her subcutaneous fluids, so she was mad at me and wouldn't look at the camera.  But you can see her fur coat is intact!

She had just received her subcutaneous fluids, so she was mad at me and wouldn’t look at the camera. But you can see her fur coat is intact!

So far, so good.  I hope it continues to go this well.

2 thoughts on “Chemo Kitty Has Some Hair

Leave a Reply

