2009 Joseph Drouhin Chorey-Les-Beaune


Today I went Christmas shopping with my mom while Jon was at work.  Although we didn’t end up going to the antique shop we intended to, I did get some of my Christmas shopping done for Jon and my father-in-law.

When I got home, I tried out a new recipe for Green Olive and Feta Meatballs.  I served them simply, with some Spanish rice.    They turned out really well, and it is certainly a recipe I will make again!  I was looking for a wine to go with our meal and I pulled out a bottle of 2009 Joseph Drouhin Chorey-Les-Beaune.

This was a wine that we purchased in the Willamette Valley, when we visited Domaine Drouhin Winery.  It is a French wine that they imported to the winery to show the similarities and differences between the Maison Drouhin’s French and U.S. winery operations.  For those of you like me who have trouble reading French labels, Beaune refers to the appellation in France where the grapes are grown, and Chorey is the French village where the vineyards are.  It is located in the Burgundy region, which is known for its Pinot Noir wines.

JosephDrouhin

On the nose, there are scents of smoke, tobacco, and cherry.  The flavors are of cherry, smoke and a light spice.  We liked this wine during our visit, and it didn’t disappoint now.  Well, that’s not quite true.  The disappointment was in the fact that we drank the last bottle!

Feta and Olive Meatballs

1 pound ground beef

1/2 cup chopped green olives

1/2 cup crumbled feta

1/2 cup chopped parsley

1/2 cup chopped onion (I would say these are optional – I didn’t use them, and they turned out great!)

2 eggs

1 teaspoon Italian seasoning

Combine all ingredients in a bowl, then shape into 16 golf ball sized meatballs.  Place a couple inches apart on a baking sheet and bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

4 thoughts on “2009 Joseph Drouhin Chorey-Les-Beaune

Leave a Reply

