Anne Amie 2008 Pinot Blanc


The other night Jon opened a bottle of the 2008 Anne Amie Pinot Blanc.  We haven’t been to Anne Amie for a couple of  years, and this bottle reminded me that we should go again.

Anne Amie is technically family owned, but…  It is one of the many businesses of the R.B. Pamplin Corporation, a family-owned company with annual sales approaching $700 million.  Robert B. Pamplin, Jr. is the founder of the Portland Tribune newspaper, Columbia Empire Farms, and Your NorthWest retail stores, in addition to Anne Amie Vineyard.  Of course, I can’t be too hard on this large, family business, because Robert B. Pamplin, Jr. is known for his philanthropy and the winery has earned certifications in Low Input Viticulture and Salmon-Safe practices.

When you visit Anne Amie, their tasting room staff are friendly and approachable and happy to share their knowledge of the wines you are tasting.  Their lineup is always excellent, not a bad one in the bunch.  Jon and I once bought a bottle of their Cuvee A Amrita, and watched it disappear in less than 5 minutes when we shared it with Jon’s sisters and cousins at an impromptu hot tub pool party.  Yep, I’d say that was a success!  But I digress.

The 2008 Pinot Blanc has a nose of light butter and crisp citrus, which gives way to a wonderful balanced flavor of butter and pineapple.  The key word here is balance, because the French oak aging is done so expertly that the oak and butter do not overpower the citrus flavors in the wine.  Very well done.

Although I have seen the Anne Amie Pinot Noir and Pinot Gris in grocery stores here, I’m not sure I would find the Pinot Blanc.  Another trip to the Willamette Valley is certainly in order…

5 thoughts on “Anne Amie 2008 Pinot Blanc

  1. I live in the Willamette Valley (at least for a few more months) and have become a big fan of the wines here. I have not tried Anne Amie yet, but I will put it on my list. Ah…so many vineyards, so little time!

    • I agree with the so many vineyards, so little time! Always looking for good recommendations for my next trip, so if you have any favs, please let me know. So, you are leaving the Willamette Valley – hopefully off to someplace wonderful!

      • We are headed to Missouri where the wine isn’t as good, but the family is much closer. Our favorite Willamette Valley wine is Cubanisimo. The 2008 Estate Pinot Noir is particularly nice and rumor has it that this year’s is going to be as good better. This winery also hosts monthly salsa dance lessons and special salsa events on Labor Day, Memorial Day, and Valentine’s Day weekends. Always a good time.

      • Thanks for the recommendation! I checked out their website and it looks like a fun place. Jon and I haven’t been wine tasting in the Salem area yet, but have talked about how we need to. This winery is just one more reason! I haven’t done any wine tasting in Missouri, but I suspect you are right about their wines not being as good. Lots of neat historical sites though – I visited a friend there a few years ago and enjoyed the trip.

Leave a Reply

