Black Box – Sauvignon Blanc


So, I’m deep into another long work week and have been so busy I didn’t even have time to tell you about last weekend or my latest wine find.  I did have the opportunity to go for a couple of 5.2 mile walks over the weekend with a good friend of mine, one on Saturday and one on Sunday.  This is twice each day around one of the local lakes, that has a good walking path all the way around.  There’s just something about a nice morning workout that gets my day started off on the right foot.  Sadly, since we moved, I don’t live as close to this friend anymore so we aren’t able to walk on the weekday mornings now, so it’s back to my treadmill during the week.

It rained for a significant portion of the weekend.  Most of Saturday the rain came down.  And it rained off and on Sunday too.  But the funny thing is, I was able to get both of my walks in without any rain – all 10.4 miles of them (although we did feel a couple of drops at the end of the walk on one day).

So to celebrate the weekend rain, and the lack of much in the way of spring weather so far this spring, I was in the mood for some Sauvignon Blanc.  Because Sauvignon Blanc is just one of those varietals that screams ,“hot summer day on the patio!”  We had purchased a couple of Black Box boxed wines a few months ago, because I had a $10 rebate coupon for each box, up to 2.  We had intended to use it as overflow wine when we have guests over, kind of in the spirit of The Third Bottle brand of wine that Gustavo Thrace Winery makes (I’ll blog about that one in another post – I promise!).  We purchased this Sauvignon Blanc and the Black Box Malbec at the same time, and we drank the Malbec some time ago, but we pulled out the box of Sauvignon Blanc more recently.  We didn’t open it for a party, as we had intended, but instead Jon pulled it out on some night when he didn’t have any other everyday drinking wines on hand.

Black Box wines retail for between about $17 and $20 per bottle, but you get the equivalent of 4 bottles in the box.  For some of us, the idea of having 4 bottles of wine all open at once is rather daunting, but the makers say this packaging will keep the wine fresh for up to a month!  Jon and I didn’t test that theory, but we did open the package a little more than 2 weeks before we finished it off, and the wine was still fine.  That’s way better than some other wines I’ve had!

Black Box Sauvignon Blanc

The wine itself is a solid, yet run of the mill, true to the varietal Sauvignon Blanc.  It is crisp without much minerality (to honest, if I were to change anything about this wine, I would give it a little more minerality), and it was a little tart with a hint of citrus.  There’s nothing amazing about the wine, but nothing that’s going to turn you off either.  For an everyday drinking wine in the $4-$5 bottle price point, it is certainly a keeper.  And it keeps.  Saturday night I started out with a rather large glass.  There was only a little more in the box and I was just trying to finish it off (I didn’t realize it would end up being so much – the bag the wine is contained in can be deceiving).  At any rate, I was more tired than I realized Saturday night and ended up not really in the mood for a mondo glass of wine, so I left most of the glass on the counter for Sunday.  Heck I thought, if it was really bad, I could always pour it out.  But on Sunday, despite the fact that it had been sitting out in a glass for 24 hours and it was not chilled, it was still a very pleasant glass of wine!  That itself deserves major points.

I would certainly recommend this wine, as long as the package size isn’t too large for you to finish in less than the month time limit.  Although I supposed if you are coming close to week 3, you can always throw a party and get some friends to help you out.  Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

