Anatomy of a Cold


I’ve had a lot of colds this year. Not sure why. I started a new job almost a year ago, so some might argue that there is a certain amount of stress associated with that. Or new people with different germs to spread around. I’ve also had quite a bit of stress, because Jon and I decided to sell our starter home and buy a new house in August, so we went through that process for several months. I thought that since things have finally settled down, I could get back to my normal “don’t get sick very often” life. It seems a certain rhinovirus had other plans.

This Monday, I thought I was getting another sinus infection (I’ve been struggling with those a lot lately too). I had a headache in my forehead, and my face around my eyes hurt, and I was exhausted. You know, all the typical sinus symptoms. Monday was a holiday, so I spent a pretty lazy day, did some shopping and lunch with my mom, raked some leaves in the yard, folded clothes – a pretty typical weekend.

Tuesday I went to work feeling crappy. I was really stuffy – couldn’t breathe, still had the sinus headache in a bad way. I managed to make it through the day, but was pretty useless after I got home. Wednesday brought a change, in the way of the sniffly-sneezies! My personal favorite! Thank god it is the week after Christmas and it was a really quiet week. I sniffly-sneezed my way through the day, hiding out in my office, counting the minutes until I could go home at 5 o’clock. Then Thursday I was a bit drier, with the sneezies mostly tapered off. It didn’t hurt that I took massive amounts of cold medicine to help dry me out. The exhaustion still hung on with me, unfortunately.

On Friday… the progression marched on. I got the cough! What a treat!  I was playing in a soccer tournament and worried that I was going to explode into fits of coughing on the field (I agreed to play before I got sick – which was crazy even then – but that’s a post for another day).  Fortunately my cold was under control while I was running around the field (perhaps the sweating and heavy breathing did me some good!)

Now, Saturday – the cough is still lingering, but I can mostly taste things again!  That means I can enjoy some wine for New Year’s!  Jon just uncorked a bottle of champagne – we have to start celebrating early because there is no way I’ll be up at midnight!  I’m hoping for a Happy 2012 with more vacations and fewer illnesses!  Happy New Year everybody!

2 thoughts on “Anatomy of a Cold

  1. Bummer on the cold, hopefully you are feeling better. I usually get sick either at Thanksgiving or Christmas. This year I made it all the way through the holidays and bam got a doozy of a cold yesterday. Glad you got your taste buds back in time for the New Year 🙂

Leave a Reply

