Warm New Home


So, now that we have moved, and gotten down to some semblance of order in the house, we decided to have a housewarming party.  We scheduled it for Dec. 10, exactly one month after we closed on the home and began moving in.  As with any party around the holidays, we actually scheduled a couple of weeks ago, to give everybody enough time to make plans to come.  I knew it was a tight timeline, but I figured that would give me some incentive to keep working on unpacking and organizing (and it did!)  The party was last weekend, and I hope a good time was had by all.  For me, it was a great opportunity to see friends and family that I haven’t had much of a chance to see during this whole insane moving process.  And it was an opportunity to open some good bottles of wine and enjoy them!  We had two large format bottles that we uncorked, a 2007 Glacial Lake Missoula Deluge(a Cab Sauv, Cab Franc blend) and a 2006 Westrey Pinot Noir.  Both were excellent, and I think everybody enjoyed them thoroughly.  I hadn’t tried the Westrey before, and it was a fine example of what a Willamette Valley Pinot should be – bold and tart, with tastes of cherry and black raspberry.  I will certainly seek out their Pinots again.  We also opened a 2006 Matthews Estate Syrah – their Blackboard edition.  Sumptuous.  One the white side, we enjoyed an Inox Chardonnay by Chehalem, a perennial favorite, and a Carlton Cellars Sauvignon Blanc called Proposal Rock.  My friend Tiffany was extremely disappointed that the Proposal Rock was a bottle we picked up on a trip in Oregon – I think she was very tempted to steal the bottle.  Who could blame her?  I bought a couple of bottles of that one when we were down in Oregon last, since I liked it so much.

We got to do “the tour” for everybody – who doesn’t love “the tour”?  I think everybody liked the home as much as we do.  And one of  the best parts is that now that we have a real guest room with more than a single bed, we can have more houseguests!  And they can even have their own bathroom!

Now I need to finish organizing the garage and get rid of the remaining piles of cardboard that are waiting to go to the curb.  But that can wait one more day.

3 thoughts on “Warm New Home

  1. Your home looks beautiful. All your artwork fits in so well and it is fun to see it displayed.
    The 2006 Westrey Pinot Noir. was soooo good. Glad that Martini made a brief appearance 🙂

  2. Pingback: Happy Anniversary | Wine and History Visited

Leave a Reply

