A Quiet Thanksgiving


Thanksgiving is almost here, and the weather is absolutely crummy. Due to the terrible summer that we had, I’m heading into winter more pale than I’ve been in a long time. By the time the sun arrives again next spring, I’m sure I’ll look downright sickly (I already sort-of do). A nasty windstorm hit on Monday night in our area, making it really tough to sleep, as I’m not used to the sounds our new home makes, and every crash or bang made me wonder if a tree was going to fall, or a piece of the house was falling off. The home did just fine, which makes me feel a bit better as we head into another windstorm that is scheduled to hit tonight and tomorrow. It will be very wet, windy Thanksgiving. I’m perfectly happy to be staying home eating turkey and drinking wine.

This year Jon and I decided to stay home and forego the family Thanksgivings. After the turmoil of the last few months, and the exhaustion of moving, we are looking forward to having a quiet long weekend to finish unpacking, relax, and spend some time with just the two of us. I’m sure next year we will be back at the family weekend, but this year we just need some time to recharge.

I’m looking forward to getting things more organized and situated. And doing some reading and doing a puzzle and watching movies (as soon as I find that box of DVDs). You know, all the things that you do with your time off when you aren’t buying a new house and moving! I’m looking forward to having that life back! I do have a huge mountain of laundry to fold and put away (moving makes a lot of laundry…). And Jon said we could go and do some antiquing! Some time over the weekend hunting around in antique stores will do me good. With lunch and some hot chocolate in a little café, sounds like the perfect relaxing weekend.

Have a Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

One thought on “A Quiet Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

