An Appraisal and Fifty-Seven Packing Boxes


Hopefully we are coming to the end of the home purchase transaction. It has been a long tiring road! We are waiting for the appraisals to come back and a re-inspection on the house that we are selling (DAMN dishwasher!) Then we wait. Well, and we finish packing. I have already signed, scanned, faxed and emailed enough documents to last me a good long while.  More repair people have been to the house in the last month than in the previous 3 or 4 years combined (why is it that we spruce up our houses to sell them?) Our savings account, I admit, has taken a bit of a beating too, as we get things in order. We just have to get through these last few weeks until we close and can move!

My kitties are feeling a bit anxious and unsettled as well. Oliver, who has never been much of a lap kitty, has been wanting to sit on my lap every chance he gets. Which I love, except when he is standing on my bladder. It makes Jon laugh because he says Oliver is almost as big as me! It is certainly tough to have both Oliver and the laptop on my lap at once. Martini has been letting him sit with me for awhile before she comes and boots him off my lap. She really is a bully, but it is pretty comical to watch a 7 pound cat intimidate a 17 pound cat! They have their system. Although the other day, she did let her guard down and let Oliver sit on my lap with her. That was a sight to see, but I couldn’t get a picture.

In packing news, we are almost down to the miscellaneous boxes. You know the ones. When you run out of the big stuff to pack, and all you have left is all the random stuff that never really has a good home. The junk drawer… that shelf above the washer and dryer…. I stand in the house staring, thinking of what I can possibly pack next that would make any sort of sense in a box together. I know it will get to the end and I will just have to shove some things in a box somewhere. I was trying to avoid that, but I guess we will just be heading across town, so that will have to do. I’m down to mostly the essential stuff, the stuff I think I might need in the next 25 days, which makes it tough to pack those items. What if I have to dig it back out?

I can barely remember the days when I lived in apartments and moved every year. I can no longer imagine a world where it took me three days to pack and move. I feel like I have been working on this for weeks, and I still have weeks to go! Apparently Jon isn’t as effective at breaking our glassware as I thought he was! I do hope that we are nearing the end though, because to be this tired for much longer is not something I’m looking forward to. But I guess I have to remember that since we decluttered the house to put it on the market, I haven’t been packing as diligently as I was, so no wonder it is taking awhile.

Even Jon has been feeling nostalgic for his things that are packed away and inaccessible. I would so love to do a puzzle, or pick any book off the shelf to read. I only kept a few books out – so when I finished the book I was reading on Saturday, I was at a loss for what I will read now. Jon keeps watching house hunting shows on TV, and has pointed out that it is nowhere near as easy as they make it look on TV. Poor guy – he is a home-buying virgin no more. I’m sure he would have loved to remain in ignorant bliss.

25 days until moving day! I can make it to the end of the tunnel! Just as long as we remember that the couch has to go out the front door and not the back….

3 thoughts on “An Appraisal and Fifty-Seven Packing Boxes

  1. aw poor kitties. I always feel so bad for the animals in moving. People they understand why the pets just feel the stress and the upheaval Glad Oliver got a little snuggle time before being bossed. My mom’s 7 lbs Siamese bosses around her 110lb dog all the time.
    House Hunter all I can say is….ROFLMAO. love how they skip to “7 months” later. There is a reason for that. No one would buy a house if they got to see the 7 months they skip 🙂

  2. Pingback: Happy Anniversary | Wine and History Visited

Leave a Reply

