Get Ready to Getaway


It’s been awhile since I’ve been on vacation. Jon and I took a Memorial Day wine trip down to the Willamette Valley, and I went to Portland to see my family for a weekend in early July, but that’s been it. I’ve been completely aching to go on vacation, and it has been so difficult to stay home.

Jon is finishing up summer classes next week, and his courses have been tough, to put it mildly. Thursday night he got two and a half hours of sleep, because he had to finish up a project before heading to work at 7:30 Friday morning. He needs a break as badly as I do.

We are taking a long weekend off in a couple of weeks to head to Medford, Oregon and the Rogue River Valley. It is a long drive for us, but we are really looking forward to the trip. We are planning to take some time doing a few different activities. One day, we will head up to Crater Lake, one day we will do some wine touring, and one day we will head over to the coast for some time near the Pacific Ocean. Jon has driven through this area of Oregon several times on his way back and forth to California, but has never stopped.   I haven’t been in the area (unless my parents took me as a child and I don’t remember). The weather is forecast to be in the 80s and 90s, which will be hotter than I have experienced all year at home. I’m thrilled about the idea of swimming in a pool, and not wearing my jacket in July (to give you an idea of how cold it is around here – on Friday morning at work I was wearing a fleece jacket over a light sweater).

I have heard good things about the wineries down in the Rogue River Valley, and I’ve heard that Crater Lake is amazing. I’ve been to the Oregon Coast and thoroughly enjoyed myself, but I have never been that far down the Coast. I’m excited for the photo opportunities too – I need to start a new photograph collection since I sadly lost a lot of my photos when my hard drive crashed last week. As much as my husband makes fun of me for posting so many photos on Facebook, I’m glad I do. They are ones that I still have a copy of now.

So the next couple of weeks will be devoted to finding info on restaurants and side activities. Shopping, wine bars, music, parks that we can enjoy in our much deserved down time. If you know the area and have any ideas, please let me know.

 

Leave a Reply

