Willamette Valley Half Marathon


On April 10th, 2011, Jon completed his second half marathon. He finished 22nd out of 1134 runners (not too shabby!) in 1 hour, 29 minutes and 4 seconds. It got us talking about participating in the Wine Country Half Marathon that is held in the Willamette Valley in the fall. We talked about it before, and frankly, I was a little nervous about participating, because this one has a maximum time. All runners and walkers have to finish within 3.5 hours. Back when we talked about it, I had never done a half marathon, and 3.5 hours is pretty intimidating for a first time half marathon walker. However, since we first talked about it, I completed my first half marathon and I did it in 3 hours, 6 minutes – I jogged some and walked most of it. So, we renewed our discussion of it this last weekend, because this half marathon sounds pretty cool. At the end of the half marathon, they have wine tasting! That’s way better than the standard cold food and awards ceremony. I’m sure not everyone feels that way, but hey, I can totally go for that.

Leave a Reply

