Michael Florentino Couniose


The other night, Jon and I decided to open a bottle of the Michael Florentino Couniose. Michael Florentino has a tasting room in Woodinville and we visited last September. I was drawn to the Couniose because it is a varietal that you hardly ever see – in fact I hadn’t heard of it before that day. This wine is delicious! It is a fairly strong, heavy red wine, but has enough fruit to balance it out. I guess it could be described as jammy, but in a good way. So often when you hear the word “jammy” lately, critics are using it to describe a wine that is all fruit with no structure. I love a big fruity wine with structure, and this one delivers. It doesn’t have the heavy oak that so frequently turns me off in a red wine. I would certainly return to this wine again, but you never know with the specialty varietals if the winemaker will make them a second year. Let’s hope they do.

Leave a Reply

