Wine vs. Beer and a Sinus Infection?


So, the last few days it has been storming and blowing like crazy, complete with sideways rain, downed limbs and power outages. March truly has come in like a lion this year. My friend Shelley and I decided to participate in the Runnin’ O the Green 2 mile fun walk, and of course, it rained the whole time. Since a 2 mile walk really isn’t much for us, my husband dropped us off, we walked the race, and then also walked the 3 miles home afterwards. Which wouldn’t have been bad at all, except for the fact that I’m fighting a bad sinus infection, and have been feeling really fatigued for the last week or so. By the time I got home, I was soaked and thoroughly tuckered out, so I took a shower and got warm, then crawled into bed for an hour nap. Then I got up, had some lunch, puttered around for awhile, and decided it was time for another nap. It was exactly what I needed. Unfortunately, all that napping doesn’t really free up much time for doing anything exciting. Sunday I was much improved, and only had to take one nap. Granted, I did sleep in until 9:30 am, but I blame that on Daylight Savings time.

Which leads me to what I have discovered is the other crummy part of a sinus infection. My sense of smell and taste are totally whacked out. I have found my normally beloved wine to be not nearly as exciting lately. It got me wondering about how the professional tasters overcome this clearly critical occupational hazard. In short, what happens when the wine tasters get sick? Do they bow out of judging a competition, or do they taste anyway? You gotta wonder, because most of them seem to work independently, so if they don’t taste, they don’t get paid, right? That’s quite the incentive to stay in the middle of the action, even if you are sick. You don’t want to be the guy with the reputation of calling in sick to the International Wine Competition, do you? And if they do taste, how badly are the rankings skewed because of the judge’s compromised palate?

Back when I was first starting to drink wine (back before the turn of the century – 12 or 13 years ago!), I bought a bottle of Barefoot Wine – I think it was a Merlot, but it might have been a Cabernet. Well, back then I admit I bought based on labels –c’mon, you know you did it too – but also because the tag at the grocery store said that this wine had won some wine award. I can’t remember which award it was, but if I did, I would probably never buy wines that won that award. This Barefoot wine was a dog – YUCK! Thinking back, I wonder if maybe one of the judges for that competition had a sinus infection that day. Hey, who knows?

On a positive note, I also learned that beer doesn’t taste as funky as wine when I have a sinus infection. I’m not sure why this is, but maybe it has something to do with the fact that beer is bitter anyway, and that’s how everything tastes when you are sick. That’s my story, anyway…. So, Saturday night, I enjoyed a bottle of Alaskan Amber.

Clearly, I spend some of my time dreaming up some strange things to wonder about, but hey, I since I was thinking about it, I might as well share it with you.


Leave a Reply

